Skip to Main Content

Text and Data Mining (TDM)

Publishing and Text and Data Mining

Publishers are aware of the growing interest in text and data mining, and also of the different methods that are used to perform text and data mining.

As there are usually methods in place to track bots and other methods of TDM it is important to be aware of any restrictions a given publisher may place on our usage as it can have a large impact on everyone's ability to use a resource if we step over the boundaries we have agreed to.

The following is a list of publishers that allows TDM.  Restrictions are noted, as well as links to getting started.

Contact Ask a librarian for further assistance. 

Database
/Vendor

Details More information
American
Chemical
Society
No API available at this time.   
American
Physical
Society

Researchers may request the data set for use in research about networks and the social aspects of science.

https://journals.aps.org/datasets

Clarivate

May retrieve reasonable amounts of content required for your own work and for CSIRO’s internal business purposes.

The database does not provide access to full-text metadata via an API. However, the search results metadata contains the DOI which may be useful for text mining through CrossRef. 

Getting started:

  • Register for an account in the Clarivate API portal. 
  • The WoS Article Match Retrieval API and WoS Lite API are available for use.
  • To use the WoS Expanded API email askalibrarian@csiro.au including your personal WoS account and details of the TDM project. 

https://developer.clarivate.com

Text Mining Example ClarivateWoK

Elsevier : ScienceDirect
/Scopus

For non-commercial use only.  API keys may not be shared.  Elsevier Provisions for Text and Data Mining.

Getting started:

By default the ScienceDirect API returns article metadata only. To add full-text data email askalibrarian@csiro.au including your personal Elsevier account details.

 https://dev.elsevier.com/index.html

Text Mining Example Elsevier

IEEE

For non-commercial research purposes. Only CSIRO staff are permitted to access search results and click-through to full-text articles.

The database does not provide access to full-text metadata via an API. However, the search results metadata contains fields such as the DOI which may be useful for text mining through CrossRef. 

Getting started:

  • Sign in or register for an IEEE account in order to obtain an API key.  A summary of the TDM project is required before an API key is issued. 

https://developer.ieee.org/docs

 Text Mining Example IEEE

Springer
Nature

Content and TDM materials may only be stored on an internal server for the duration of a TDM project.  TDM output is for internal personal use only and may not be used to create derivative products.

Getting started:

https://dev.springernature.com

 Text Mining Example Springer

Taylor and Francis

No API available at this time.  Publisher will advise when available. 

Wiley

CSIRO does not have a separate TDM agreement with Wiley at this time.

For non-commercial, scholarly research related to specific projects. TDM may not be used for direct or indirect commercial purposes. Wiley Text and Data Mining License v1.1.

Search for relevant articles using WileyOnline, then use the CrossRef API to access full text abstracts and PDF’s. 

Getting started:

  • Using your ORCID ID obtain an API token
  • Identify relevant articles on WileyOnline and obtain DOI’s
  • Use the Crossref API as an intermediary to access Wiley full-text abstracts and pdfs. 

http://olabout.wiley.com/WileyCDA/Section/id-829772.html

 Text Mining Example Wiley

 

Text Mining Examples: