We welcome feedback and additions to our Library Guides. You can contact a member of our friendly staff via phone or email if you need assistance.
Ask a Librarian is staffed from
9am to 5pm AEST Monday - Friday.
You can import PDFs into EndNote and, in many cases, EndNote will populate all reference fields (title, author, date etc.) in your EndNote library using its Digital Object Identifier (DOI).
If the DOI is not present, the PDF will be imported but the bibliographic data in the reference fields will be missing.
You can edit the references for PDFs imported without a DOI to include any missing bibliographic data.
Watch this video(1 min 28 sec) or follow the steps below:
1. Go to the File menu > Import > File
2. Click Choose and locate a PDF you wish to convert to a reference in your EndNote Library. If you have a collection of PDFs saved in one folder, choose File > Import > Folder.
3. Choose PDF as your import option. Click the Import button.
Note: If the DOI is not present, the PDF will be imported, but bibliographic data in the reference fields will be missing. You can edit the reference to add in the missing details.
Use the Find Full Text command in EndNote 20 to locate the full- text articles of references already in your EndNote library.
EndNote locates and downloads the full articles by accessing several sources:
This feature will find publicly available or open access articles.
For best results, set your EndNote preferences to authenticate with CSIRO Library's Open URL path.
Watch this video (1 min 28 sec) or follow the steps below:
1. Select the All references group to view all the references in your Library
2. Select the desired reference(s):
3. Go to the References menu > Find Full Text > Find Full Text
4. The downloaded PDF is represented by a paper clip and it appears alongside the reference.
5. The number of PDFs and URLs found is listed under Find Full Text group at the left hand side panel.
6. If the summary panel is not showing, double click on the reference. Click on PDF in the preview panel to view the PDF.
7. To view the PDF in a separate window, click on this icon 
.
8. Click on the comment icon at the top left of the PDF window to open the annotation toolbar. You can then highlight, underline, or add a comment to your PDF, and you will be prompted to save changes when you close the PDF.
9. When a PDF isn't available from CSIRO Library's online subscriptions or from an open access source, you can submit a document delivery request to the Library. When you have downloaded the PDF onto your computer, you can import it into your EndNote library.
Note: EndNote's Find Full Text functionality cannot query full text resources that utilise JavaScript. ScienceDirect has implemented a change to URL directing, which now employs JavaScript. A product enhancement request has been submitted to EndNote, but there is no possible workaround for this at present.
You can add a PDF to an existing reference in your EndNote library.
