Skip to Main Content

EndNote

This CSIRO specific guide has information on managing your references using EndNote.

Using EndNote CWYW with Word

The Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in connects the Word document to your EndNote library.

It is automatically downloaded as part of your EndNote Desktop installation and appears in the Word menu.

EndNote plugin, Microsoft word

Reasons to use CWYW:

  • Insert in-text citations from your EndNote library directly into any Word document using the referencing style of your choice.
  • Automatically create and format your bibliography at the end of your document.
If the CWYW plug-in is missing from the menu in Word, contact IM&T for assistance to install the plug-in.
Turn Instant Formatting on to see how your citations and bibliography will appear in your final document.

 

Using CWYW correctly ensures that your Word document does not become damaged or corrupted.

Save your Word documents and EndNote library in the local drive (i.e. Local Disc (C)).

Note that Word documents with live EndNote citations and the EndNote library will become corrupted when they are saved in/ opened from cloud syncing folders (e.g. OneDrive, Network drives, Dropbox, Google Drive).

Always start from a fresh Word document for each new piece of work. Do not attempt to re-use an old document as it may contain coding that interferes with the CWYW function.

Do not attempt to edit or delete citations or bibliography references you have added using CWYW in the document using the [Delete] or [Backspace] keys.

 

Adding & editing citations

Adding citations to a Word document from an EndNote library.

Watch this video (55 sec) or follow the steps below:

 

  1. Open your EndNote library that contains the references you want to cite.
  2. In your Word document, click on the EndNote tab and select the referencing style you want to use (this can be changed at any time).
    EndNote cite while you write menu, select a referencing style, insert a citation
  3. Position the cursor in the paper where you intend to insert the citation.
  4. From the EndNote tab in Word, select Insert citation EndNote cite while you write, Insert citation icon
  5. Enter identifying text (e.g. author, keyword, part of a title) in the appropriate reference, for example, 'Smith'.
  6. Click on Find.
  7. You can insert multiple citations at the same time- select the appropriate reference(s) from the results and click on Insert.EndNote cite while you write, find and insert my references dialog box, inserting a selected citation
  8. This will automatically create both an in-text reference and a bibliographic entry.

 

 

Edit your citations in the correct way to ensure your Word document does not become damaged or corrupted.

Each citation contains hidden field codes indicated by grey shading. Attempting to edit or delete a citation by typing directly into it or using the Backspace or Delete key will disrupt the formatting.

EndNote cite while you write, citation field codes indicated by grey shading,

The correct way to edit your citations is by using the Edit & Manage Citations command found on the EndNote tab.

 

Editing the format of your in-text citations

  1. Open your EndNote library and your Word document.
  2. Highlight the formatted citation to be edited.
  3. In the EndNote tab, click on Edit & Manage Citations.
    EndNote cite while you write, edit and manage citation(s)
  4. Use the formatting menu to customise the appearance of the in-text citation. You can present author information outside of the parenthetical citation, exclude the author, the year, or both. You can also instruct EndNote to display this reference in your bibliography only. 
    EndNote cite while you write, editing and managing citations, formatting citations    
  5. Add a prefix, suffix and page numbers to your in-text citation. Note that the pages field will only work with bibliographic styles that require page numbers.
    EndNote cite while you write, editing a citaiton, adding a prefix or suffix, adding page numbers

 

Delete your citations in the correct way to ensure your Word document does not become damaged or corrupted.

Each citation contains hidden field codes indicated by grey shading. Attempting to delete a citation by using the Backspace or Delete key will disrupt the formatting.

EndNote cite while you write, citation field codes indicated by grey shading

The correct way to remove your citations is by using the Edit & Manage Citations command found on the EndNote tab.

 

Deleting citations

  1. Highlight the formatted citation to be edited.
  2. In the EndNote tab, click on Edit & Manage Citations.
    EndNote cite while you write menu, Edit and manage citation(s) command
  3. The citation you highlighted will be highlighted in blue. Click the Edit Reference drop-down, choose Remove Citation, and click OK.
    EndNote cite while you write, deleting a citation, removing a citation

Formatting the bibliography

Format your bibliography in the correct way to ensure your Word document does not become damaged or corrupted.

Each reference contains hidden field codes indicated by grey shading. Attempting to edit or delete the reference by typing directly into it or using the Backspace or Delete key will disrupt the formatting.

EndNote cite while you write, bibliography field codes indicated by grey shading

The correct way to format the bibliography is by using the Configure bibliography command found on the EndNote tab.

EndNote cite while you write, Configure bibliography command

 

Change the formatting of the bibliography

  1. From the EndNote 20 tab, click on the small arrow at the bottom of the Bibliography section.
  2. Select the Format Bibliography tab to change the output/ referencing style for the entire paper.
  3. Select the Layout tab to change the font, spacing and bibliography title.

EndNote cite while you write, configuring the bibliography, selectingan output style

 EndNote cite while you write, selecting the layout tab, formatting the bibliography