Library Guides: Current Awareness: Pre-print databases

Pre-print databases

Pre-print databases contain preliminary versions of scientific research papers that have not yet been peer-reviewed or published in a journal.

Below are some examples of pre-print databases. Many general-purpose scientific databases such as PubMed and Web of Science also include pre-prints in their collections.

arXiv
A comprehensive database of pre-prints in mathematics, physics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, economics and electrical engineering and systems science.
bioRxiv
A database of unpublished pre-prints in the life sciences including biology, genetics and medicine.
CERN Preprints
This collection contains over 400,000 documents and aims to cover all the grey literature in particle physics and its related technologies.
ChemRxiv
A database for unpublished pre-prints in chemistry and related areas.
EarthArXiv
A collection of resources from all areas of earth and planetary science.
Europe PMC
Access to over 45 million life sciences preprints and other document types.
INSPIRE
This database contains publications on high energy physics.
medRxiv
A free online archive containing preprints in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.
Preprint Citation Index (Web of Science)
Discover preprints for key research articles in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities ahead of their formal publication in a journal.
Preprints
A multidisciplinary platform providing a pre-print service that is dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable.
SocArXiv
An open archive for the social sciences.