EndNote

You can import PDFs into EndNote and, in many cases, EndNote will populate all reference fields (title, author, date, etc.) in your EndNote Library using the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).

If the DOI is not present, the PDF will be imported but the bibliographic data in the reference fields will be missing.

Import PDFs directly into EndNote

Watch this video (1 min 28 sec) or follow the steps below:

1. Select File > Import > File (or File > Import > Folder to locate and add a folder of PDFs):

2. Click Choose and locate the PDF that you wish to add to your EndNote Library, then select PDF as your import option and click Import:

Use the Find Full Text command in EndNote to locate the PDFs of references already in your EndNote library.

EndNote locates and downloads the full articles by accessing several sources:

• Digital Object Identifier (DOI)
• PubMed LinkOut
• Web of Science Full Text Links

This feature will find publicly available or open access articles.

For best results set your EndNote preferences to authenticate with CSIRO Library's Open URL path.

Use the Find Full Text command to retrieve full text articles

Watch this video (1 min 28 sec) or follow the steps below:

1. Select All References to view all the references in your Library
2. Choose the relevant reference(s) using one of the following methods:

•  Click on an individual reference to select it
•  Shift + Click to select multiple adjacent references
•  Ctrl + Click to select multiple, non-consecutive references

3. Select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text

4. The number of PDFs and URLs found is listed in the Find Full Text group in the left hand panel: 

5. A paper clipto the left of the reference indicates that a PDF is attached. Click on PDF in the preview panel to view the document or select the square arrow icon  to view it in a separate window.
6. Click on the comment icon on the top left of the PDF window to open the annotation toolbar and highlight, underline, or add a comment to your PDF. You will be prompted to save changes when you close the PDF.

7. When a PDF isn't available from CSIRO Library's online subscriptions or from an open access source, you can submit a document delivery request to the Library. When you have downloaded the PDF onto your computer, you can import it into your EndNote library.

Note: EndNote's Find Full Text functionality cannot query full text resources that utilise JavaScript. ScienceDirect has implemented a change to URL directing, which now employs JavaScript. A product enhancement request has been submitted to EndNote, but there is no possible workaround for this at present.

You can add a PDF to an existing reference in your EndNote Library.

1. Click on the individual reference to select it.
2. If the summary panel is not showing on the right of the library window, double click on the selected reference.
3. Click on the Summary tab in the preview panel, then click on the +Attach file button.
4. Select the PDF file and click Open: