Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HSE Library Resources

Citation Databases

CSIRO subscibes to significant science and technology databases, containing citations to journal articles, book chapters, research reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, images and more
A full list of these databases is available

Some databases provide the full-text of cited documents, others only citations


The Discovery tab is available in many databases
Click the icon to link to the full text where we have a subscription

If the full text is not available digitally, select from alternate options to locate the item in print or to make a Document Delivery request

Useful HSE Databases

  • Chemical hazards in industry provides details of literature reports on safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in chemical and related industries. Covering a wide range of primary sources, including key scientific and trade journals, you can search records according to subject and chemical keywords, filter your reading to your subject area of choice or simply browse recently added articles. Topics covered include health and safety, chemical and biological hazards, plant safety, legislation, protective equipment and storage, all relating to the chemical and allied industries.

  • Choice Access Restrictions: Username and Password required  Provides full access to thousands of reports and reviews on products and services, from washing machines and steam mops, to coffee grinders, cars and health insurance.

  • Environmental engineering abstracts A comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
     
  • Environmental sciences and pollution management A multidisciplinary database providing comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences with abstracts and citations from over 10,000 scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

  • Government online directory  An online guide to the structure and key people in the Australian Government. Contains key contact points in Australian Government agencies and links to home pages as well as contact details for the Commonwealth Parliament, Courts and the Governor-General, Courts and Judges; and Australian Government departments and agencies.
     
  • Health and safety science abstracts Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management and provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene.

  • Laboratory hazards bulletin A literature updating service focusing on hazards encountered by laboratory workers in all fields, including R&D, analytical and hospital laboratories.

  • Risk abstracts A comprehensive source for interdisciplinary perspectives in the field of risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

  • SAI global : on-line premium Full-text online access to the Standards Australia database of national standards. Also provides electronic access to ISO, IEC, European, ETSI, NSAI, JSA, DIN, ASTM, ANSI and BSI standards which can be requested for a fee.

  • Toxicology abstracts A comprehensive resource for toxicologists covering issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.

  • TOXLINE Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Other Popular Databases


CAB Abstracts is the largest professionally-produced database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines and provide access to a full-text repository of over 36,000 journal articles, reports and conference papers


The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides high quality technical information in engineering and technology, including journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings and all active IEEE and IET standards from 1988, plus archival material


ProQuest is a single gateway for access to millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like these: The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History Literature & Language, Science & Technology, Social Sciences


PubMed provides bibliographic information from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as publisher-supplied citations and links to DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes


Scopus includes over  41 million records, some back to 1823, sourced from 18,000 peer reviewed and open-access journals, trade publications, books series titles and conference proceedings by 5,000 international publishers

The Standards Australia database provides full-text online access to over 6,800 national standards and a gateway for electronic access to ISO, IEC, European, ETSI, NSAI, JSA, DIN, ASTM, ANSI and BSI standards which can be downloaded for an additional fee

 

The Web of Science provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including powerful cited reference searching, the Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data