Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide - Health & Biosecurity Resources

Featured Database

Citation Databases

CSIRO subscibes to significant science and technology databases, containing citations to journal articles, book chapters, research reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, images and more
Some databases provide the full-text of cited documents, others only citations


The Discovery tab is available in many databases
Click the icon to link to the full text where we have a subscription

If the full text is not available digitally, select from alternate options to locate the item in print or to make a Document Delivery request

Useful Databases

  • AACR Publications. Eight online journals published by the American Association of Cancer Research covering the entire spectrum of cancer research
  • Abstracts in new technologies and engineering Monitors over 350 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases from the U.K. and the U.S. covering new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, engineering and allied subjects.
  • AccessScience. Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology providing access to over 8500 articles, 115,000 dictionary terms from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 3,000 biographies, and more
  • Agricola is a bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture
  • AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts.  A comprehensive database providing bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Information concentrates on both basic science research as well as clinical applications
  • Algology, mycology and protozoology abstracts (Microbiology C) Covers journal articles relevant to algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens. The scope includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants
  • ASM Journals. A range of online journals published by the American Society for Microbiology, covering both basic and clinical microbiology
  • Biology Database Provides access to some of the most popular information resources on a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text
  • BIOSIS previews Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, including botany, zoology, microbiology, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also includes interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Combines journal content from Biological Abstracts® with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM® (Reports, Reviews, Meetings)
  • Biotechnology and bioengineering abstracts Bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
  • CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health Subjects covered include animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, and rural development CAB Abstracts also provide access to a full-text repository of over 36,000 journal articles, reports and conference papers
  • The Cochrane library A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups
  • COS Conference Papers Index. Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability
  • Family Health Database. Includes journals and magazines covering a range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine are covered, as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines
  • Health Management Database. A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations
  • Health & Medical Collection. Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, with in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications, almost 1,300 of which are available in full text, including all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements.
  • Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A). This database assembles significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.
  • Invasive Species Compendium Encyclopaedic resource containing: Datasheets on over 1500 invasive species and animal diseases ; basic datasheets on further species, countries, habitats and pathways ; bibliographic database of over 65,000 records (updated weekly) ; full text documents
  • MEDLINE One of the foremost bibliographic databases of biomedical literature covering virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine. Medline provides data on toxicology, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology.
  • Nursing & Allied Health Database.  Designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions, providing abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations
  • ProQuest Central. A comprehensive, multidisciplinary research database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, and science and technology. This major resource includes thousands of full-text journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability
  • Public Health Database.  Designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research with centralised access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text
  • PubMed.  Comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
  • Scopus The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyse and visualise research, as well as full coverage from MEDLINE, Embase and Compendex databases.
  • Springer protocols  Comprehensive database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences
  • Virology & AIDS abstracts.  Provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS
  • Web of Science  A major multidisciplinary citation database covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes sophisticated analysis tools allowing researchers to identify top authors, institutions, and publishers in a given field, as well as the ability to trace citations backward or forward in time

Quick Search

Connect to Discovery

In a single search, Discovery provides access to all your information resources in one place

Major resources indexed in Discovery include:

  • CSIRO’s Electronic Resources Collection
  • CSIRO’s Library Catalogue
  • Web of Science (from 1980) 
  • ProQuest databases
  • Scopus

Need Help?

     

Contact: Ask a Librarian

P:   08 8303 8555 or 9838555